Stupidity Runs Rampant

    I was grocery shopping with my children the other day and was approached by a woman with a puzzled look on her face. I thought she needed help finding something in the store. I was rather surprised when she proceeded to ask me some very personal questions. She asked if my two youngest’s dad was black. I replied with, “Yes, my husband is black.”

    She responded with, “But you’re oldest is white. So, you haven’t always liked black men?”

I paused for a moment and said a silent prayer because all I really wanted to do was slap her in the face at this point. As hard as it was,I remained calm and said, “When I look at my husband, I don’t see a black man. I see my rock, a proud and loving father, a role model for my oldest son, a strong soldier who selflessly serves his country to provide crass people like you the freedom to ask inappropriate questions to complete strangers!”

    I walked away fuming but with my head held high. I’ll never understand the nerve of some people.

 

 

Image

(From left to right: Callum 20 months, Fisher 5, Lynley 2 months)

4 thoughts on “Stupidity Runs Rampant”

  1. First of all – Kudos for showing such strength of character and keeping your anger in check.
    Second – have you seen the Swiffer commercials that are supposed to be real people (husband and wife, mother and son, parents and children, etc.) making real comments after trying out the Swiffer products? One commercial is a family of a black mother, a white father who is missing part of his left arm, and two beautiful children. However, what is memorable about this commercial to me is when the older daughter (who appears to be preschool age) asks the dad if he needs any help. That moment there says a lot about the family there, how the parents have raised their children with certain values, and how the daughter at a young age has learned to think of others besides herself.

Leave a Reply

